Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Taking the leap of Faith…

on May 17, 2012

     Welcome back! Thank you for continuing on my journey with me. If this is your first time at my blog, please click on My Journey on the right to get a little background on what I’m posting about today. (If you’re reading this as an email, you’ll need to click on over to my actual blog page) Today I’m going to share one of the MANY signs which confirmed to us that God was calling Jeff to quit his job & start his own company.

     After much prayer & reading of God’s Word we felt confident that God was indeed calling Jeff to take a leap of faith & quit his job. It was a VERY hard decision & one we DIDN’T take lightly. On Sunday our pastor preached on Ordinary Radicals. The gist of the sermon was on how God took ordinary people in the Bible & called them do radical things. He spoke on how Moses was an ordinary man who was called by God to radically lead the Israelites out of Egypt & into Canaan, the promised land.  I got chills & could feel my heart racing as I knew right then & there God was calling Jeff as an ordinary man to do something radical and quit his job. And seriously, what can be more radical than quitting his job, especially at a time when people were losing their jobs?!

     On our way to the car after church I shared that with Jeff. He shook his head as he too felt the same thing. Monday came & we spent the day praying & reading God’s Word.  That night we were confident Jeff was been called to quit his job.  We agreed he would do just that the very next day…Tuesday.

     Tuesday morning I was starting a new Bible study at my church. The format is that there is 5-6 different studies & you pick which one you want to do. I had already decided that I wanted to do a Beth Moore study. I had gotten there early & as I was waiting in my car Jeff called. He was about to resign & wanted to make sure one last time that I was on board. I instantly told him that I was 100% behind him. I told him that I kept thinking about the story of the Israelites & how I was convinced that it was his time to leave the corporate world & head out on his own. We agreed once again that this was the right thing to do & that we were doing it not of our will, but God’s. I then hung up the phone & headed into church.

    While in line to pick my Bible study I happened to notice a study that I wasn’t aware of. The study was…wait for it….One in a Million Journey to Your Promised Land by Priscilla Shirer. Insert me gasping & exclaiming, “No Way!” I instantly grabbed the book & after scanning through it knew right then & there, God was about to equip us for the our journey that we were now officially on. I immediately signed up for that study. 

     After digging into my new study, I truly felt like God was equipping me to get through those first couple months as the high of “we did it!” started to leave & the reality of “oh my goodness, what did we just do?!” kicked in. I also have verses emailed to me daily from www.heartlight.org & here are some that I started getting around that time as well:

Hebrews 13:20-21: May the God of peace, who through the blood of the eternal covenant brought back from the dead our Lord Jesus, that great Shepherd of the sheep, equip you with everything good for doing His will, and may He work in us what is pleasing to Him, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory for ever and ever. Amen.

John 8:12 “When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

Isaiah 30:21 Whether you turn to the right or to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it.”

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.

Psalm 121:2-4 My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip he who watches over you will not slumber; indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.

Joshua 1:9 Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.

     And lastly one of my favorites:

Jeremiah 29:11 “I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

     So you see, when God calls you to take a leap of faith & follow Him, He DOES equip you for the journey. Everything you need to continue on & persevere is right there in His Word. You just have to open it & see for yourself :) Now again, please don’t think this journey has been easy & enjoyable, FAR FROM IT!! I’ll get to the trails where even though God never left us, we truly had to stretch our faith & trust like NEVER before.  Days we questioned the whole if God is for us, then who can be against us? verse found in Romans 8:31.  Days we questioned how far God would let us fall before He picked us up. We’re still very much in this, waiting on God to deliver us.  But that’s skipping ahead of our journey.  Next week I’ll talk about the first word God put on our hearts & how everywhere we turned, there it was. A word we still cling to this day. Until then I’m,

Continuing on to Canaan……

6 responses to “Taking the leap of Faith…

  1. Ruthie says:

    Perfect, beautiful verses. I printed them out and will keep them! I love to hear how God works in others’ lives. Can’t wait to read next week’s.
    Ruthie

  2. cherieinhim says:

    Oh my, how I just LOVE how God supernaturally works in the lives of His children!!! Sister, I just LOVE watching and praying over your journey of faith! Okay, I’ve got a thought provoking statement here that might just stick with you forever:

    “God will never call you to do what you can do on your own.”

    Sister, it’s all about us learning to COMPLETELY lean on Him! In order for us to learn that, He usually must take us through periods of life where we are COMPLETELY helpless. We must know that our help comes from the Lord and Him alone. ; )

    Sending LOTS of love and prayers!
    Cherie

    • Kim B. says:

      Hello my sweet sister!! How nice as always to glean from your wisdom :) I LOVED your statement & immediately passed it on to Jeff. VERY thought provoking! I think your next book should be a book of Godly statements such as this :) You have been a MAJOR encourager to Jeff & I on this journey. Your blog & your books continue to bless us more then you’ll ever know! Thank you for heading the call & allowing God to work through you in order to encourage & inspire others such as me. Blessings! Kim

  3. JKB says:

    Looking forward to next weeks post!

  4. Kim B. says:

    Thank You! Blessings!

Comments are welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

