Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

When God Calls Us to Wait

on July 5, 2012

     Waiting is another emotion I struggle with.  Right now I am immensely struggling with it.  Jeff’s company hasn’t bounced back the way we thought it would & as a result Jeff has been looking for a job.  I came across a job online that was almost EXACTLY what he did prior to starting his own company.  Jeff has now had 5 interviews with this company.   Everytime he’d get a phone call we thought it was to tell him whether or not he got the job, but it wasn’t.  It was to inform him of the next interview. Now, don’t get me wrong, I DO realize we should be grateful that it wasn’t the call saying he didn’t get the job.  We are grateful, but it is still hard as we just want closure! Jeff was then told they would have a decision by Friday….as in last Friday.  We still don’t know.  This has been going on for over 2 months & we are getting tired of waiting. 

     In order to help me cope with waiting, I had to remind myself what the Bible says about it. 

Psalm 130:5 I wait for the Lord, my soul does wait, and in His Word do I hope.

Romans 8:25 But if we hope for what we do not see, with perseverance we wait eagerly for it.

Isaiah 40:31 But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

James 5:11 Behold, we consider those blessed who remained steadfast. You have heard of the steadfastness of Job, and you have seen the purpose of the Lord, how the Lord is compassionate and merciful.

Isaiah 30:15 Therefore the Lord waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the Lord is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him.

Psalm 40:1-2 I waited patiently for the Lord; And He inclined to me and heard my cry.  He brought me up out of the pit of destruction, out of the miry clay. And He set my feet upon a rock making my footsteps firm.

Psalm 27:14 Wait for the Lord; Be strong and let your heart take courage; Yes, wait for the Lord.

   Be strong & let your heart take courage.  I LOVE it when I read a verse that completely speaks to me.  God is telling me BE STRONG!  He KNOWS I’m struggling, He KNOWS how HARD it is for me to wait right now.  Yet His Word says He WILL strengthen me while I wait, Isaiah 41:10 fear not, for I am with you;  be not dismayed, for I am your God;  I will strengthen you, I will help you,  I will uphold you with my  righteous right hand. 

    Waiting can bring about an ongoing battlefield in your mind.  You can make yourself stronger for battle by seeking God’s wisdom & strength through prayer & His Word or you can crumble & allow Satan to fill your mind with antagonizing thoughts of worry & fear.  When I feel myself allowing Satan to win the battle I just stop & pray.  This is where Scripture memorization also helps.  My go to verse right now is Psalm 46:10 Be still and know that I am God.  Stop thinking….just BE STILL.

     Waiting can also be hard as sometimes we mistake waiting for “doing nothing”.  I’ve found numerous times when I haven’t waited & tried to do something, it ended up being something other than what God had planned.  Kinda like when Sarah jumped the gun & gave Hagar to Abraham rather than waiting herself for God’s timing in giving them an heir.  Can we really help God with HIS plan??   Does God need our help??  How often we forget that ONLY God knows our future & as a result, what truly is best for us.  We only think we know what’s best based on what we see.  It’s what we don’t see that makes the difference.  

   I’m sure you’ve all heard the saying, “God’s timing is seldom early, but NEVER late.” Not sometimes late, but NEVER.  Never is a word I’m claiming right now. He’s NEVER late & He will NEVER forsake me.  On a side note, I COMPLETELY left off 2 of my FAVORITE books from my last post on Worry.  These books are VERY INSPIRING & are keeping me from succumbing to the pitfalls I’m facing on this journey.  They are both daily reads & I HIGHLY recommend them!  They are:

Jesus Calling by Sarah Young

Streams in the Desert by  L.B. Cowman

      What are you waiting for today?  I’ll be praying for you & that you wait patiently on Him & His perfect timing.  I too may have to wait a little longer, but I’m trusting His perfect timing & not mine as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

 


6 responses to “When God Calls Us to Wait

  1. April M. says:

    Loved this post! The things that I am waiting for at the moment are things that will take a few years to see an outcome. That is so hard for me. I like how you’ve explained waiting as an active word rather than “doing nothing.”

    • Kim B. says:

      Wow! You TRULY are waiting! It IS hard being still & waiting on God, but we must in order to see His will done! I’m praying for you!

  2. Kristin P says:

    Worded perfectly!! Its funny because I just responded to one of your comments on my blog and the verse I put down was the Psalm 27:14, and then I skip over here and see you had come across the same verse. Its a good one for sure!! Just remember He is going to give you everything you need and more, just be faithful in your wait. God Bless.

  3. Jacqui says:

    Oh, Kim, I laughed when I got to this post!! That sounds cruel, but I mean it’s amazing how much we are on the same path right now :) Trials and waiting!! (I know your husband got a job, from a later post! Congrats) But really, as hard as it is, it will all be worth it…it really doesn’t matter whether it’s our fault or not, God is Sovereign, and uses our trials to teach, guide, and heal us…to make us more like Him. Our mistakes are His opportunity! And we are covered, emerged in His grace. So glad to meet someone I feel is so like-minded! Loving your blog:)

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Jacqui! No, you don’t sound cruel! You are sooo RIGHT! You can’t help but shake your head when God brings certain people into your life to inspire & encourage you. I too am so grateful to God for “linking” us up. Your blog is so encouraging & always what I need to read :) Thank you for your sweet reminder that it WILL all be worth it. Blessings my friend!!

      ________________________________

Comments are welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

