Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Hope & Seek

on July 19, 2012

     Hope is a word that I believe we have become desensitized in using.   I hope it isn’t hot tomorrow.  I hope I can go to the beach.  I hope I hope I hope.  But what exactly does the word hope mean to you?  Before my trial, I too was guilty of using hope in a desensitized way.  During my trial I began to understand what it means to TRULY hope for something.  Not something menial like the weather being tolerable or being able to go somewhere.  I’m talking hoping with gut wrenching prayers that God would sustain & provide for us while continuing on our journey.  Here’s the definition of hope:  to expect with confidence;  a desire accompanied by expectation of or belief in fulfillment.  BELIEF in fulfillment.  I smiled when I read that one. 

     My “word” when my trail started was BELIEVE.   My “word” right now is HOPE!  As in Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Plans to prosper me & give me hope for my future!  Do I hear an AMEN?!  Check out what else the Bible has to say about hope:

Titus 1:2 in the hope of eternal life, which God, who does not lie, promised before the beginning of time,

Romans 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.

Romans 8:24-25 For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what they already have?  But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.

     But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.  Did anyone catch that?? What we do not YET have.  Not won’t have, but yet have. Hoping for something  is the same thing as believing.  I believe that IF what we hope for IS in alignment with God’s will, then we WILL receive it.  We just have to do our part in order to expect God to do His.  What is our part?  We must continually SEEK HIM.  Just like it says in:

Psalm 37:4 Take delight in the Lord, and He will give you the desires of your heart. 

Matthew 6:33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

Deuteronomy 30:16 For I command you today to love the Lord your God, to walk in obedience to Him, and to keep His commands, decrees and laws; then you will live and increase, and the Lord your God will bless you in the land you are entering to possess.

Hebrews 11:6 And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that He rewards those who earnestly seek Him.

Psalm 34:10 The lions may grow weak and hungry, but those who seek the Lord lack no good thing.

1 Thessalonians 4:16-18  Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

1 John 5:14-15 This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, He hears us.  And if we know that He hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of Him.

Proverbs 3:5-6 Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.

         What are you hoping for?  It is my hope for you today to seek God & then delight in the promises He has for you.  When it comes to my Christian walk, I don’t want to continuously stumble on rugged paths & exhaust myself needlessly twisting & turning.  That’s why I’m making it a point to SEEK God with ALL my heart & soul.  I want to claim ALL His promises listed above & most of all, I want to claim HIM first in my life.  I want my journey to remain on a smooth path as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

12 responses to “Hope & Seek

  1. my2monsters says:

    Love this post. :)

  2. savedsister7 says:

    Thanks so much for sharing your heart and how He is speaking to you! Some of those same verses are speaking to me today as well. Loved connecting with you through His word! Blessings!

    • Kim B. says:

      I’m glad you found some verses that spoke to you! When Jeff & I entered into this trial 18 months ago we really didn’t get the concept that life’s answers REALLY are in His Word. We TRULY could’ve avoided A LOT of unwise decisions had we just sought His Word for wisdom & guidance. That is one of the MANY blessings of our trial, being more devoted to His Word so that when a choice or decision needs to be made, we will be making it based on God’s will & not our own :)

  3. Laura says:

    I love how we are called to bring hope into our prayer. In Psalms we are reminded that even our times of waiting (which are always so so hard) are to be filled with hope (Ps 33:20). God wants us to expect Him to be visible in our lives! How awesome!

    • Kim B. says:

      God wants us to expect Him to be visible in our lives….LOVED that Laura!! Thank you for such GREAT reminders, including Psalm33:20 :)

  4. livingbeyondthefeedingtrough says:

    My word, too is hope, I even have the word hanging from a chain next to a pearl which i wear almost all the time. I recetly did a study on hope from the You Version Bible. Hope has been my word for several years now and I am still going through the trials that are causing me to hope.I too have “hoped with gut wrenchig prayers”! But like the woman who kept asking the king for justice until she wore him down and he gave it to her, I will not quit putting my hope in christ Jesus!

    • Kim B. says:

      Your necklace sounds BEAUTIFUL! I will have to look for the Hope study on YouVersion, I LOVE YouVersion! I will be praying for you as you continue to have hope in the midst of your trial. Love your attitude & I guarantee that just like that woman, you too will have justice when God sees the timing is just right :) I sooo struggled with my timing & God’s, but in the end, His timing IS always the best one for us. Blessings!!

  5. Pamela says:

    Continuing on to Canaan. Me, too. These verses on hope were a blessing to read. God is my hope!

  6. I love all the Scriptures of Hope you listed!! Thanks for linking up! Blessings to you.

Comments are welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

