Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

He is Our Light

on July 25, 2012

     One of my favorite places to go to is the beach.  I’m blessed that I live very close so I’m able to go quite often.  The beach is where I feel the closest to God as it is there that I am able to detox from life & fill up on Christ.  During our trial I would head over to the beach while the younger boys were in school.  I would sit & pray while feeling the warm sun on my face & the cool breeze on my skin.  The breeze felt like my trial….cold & uncontrollable, yet the sun felt like God, warm & embracing.  The warmth of the sun gave me the strength to tolerate the breeze, just like the warmth of God gives us the strength to tolerate our trials.  I was reminded of:

Psalm 4:6b Let the light of your face shine on us.  

Psalm 76:4 You are radiant with light, more majestic than mountains rich with game.

Ecclesiastes 11:7 Light is sweet, and it pleases the eyes to see the sun.

John 8:12 When Jesus spoke again to the people, He said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” 

I LOVE these verses on how God brings light to our dark paths:

Isaiah 42:16 Israel is blind. So I will lead them along paths they had not known before.  I will guide them on roads they are not familiar with.  I will turn the darkness into light as they travel. I will make the rough places smooth. Those are the things I will do.  I will not desert my people.

Isaiah 58:8-9 Then your light will break forth like the dawn, and your healing will quickly appear; then your righteousness will go before you, and the glory of the Lord will be your rear guard. Then you will call, and the Lord will answer; you will cry for help, and He will say: Here am I.

Psalm 112:4 Even in darkness light dawns for the upright, for those who are gracious and compassionate and righteous.

Micah 7:8 Do not gloat over me, my enemy! Though I have fallen, I will rise. Though I sit in darkness, the Lord will be my light.

       Yes, we had to do some traveling before the darkness became light.  Yes, we have been repeatedly calling on the name of the Lord to restore us and guess what?!  God’s light is beginning to shine & He has answered our cries.  We found out last week that Jeff got the job he had been interviewing for!  His first day is this Monday the 31st.  To say we are ELATED is an understatement :)  To be able to finally see the light breaking through on this dark journey feels so good & we are so grateful to God.  It has been a loooong 18 months! 

     Is your path dark right now?  Are you looking for some light to help you see the way out?  God’s Word has the light you need.  Just like it says in Psalm 119:105 Your Word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.  It even says in Psalm 119:130 The unfolding of your words gives light; it gives understanding to the simple. 

      It gives understanding to the simple.  Many times on this journey I threw my hands up in the air & screamed, “I don’t understand what you want me to do!”  One day, this simple girl understood as James 4:8 immediately came to me:  Come near to God and he will come near to you.  God just wanted me.  He wants you too my friend, so can you do it?  Will you draw near to Him while traveling on your dark path?  Can you trust that not only will you find Him, but that He WILL send light to guide you?  I know I’ve become A LOT closer to Him & am enjoying His light as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

Life in BloomSheReadsTruth

4 responses to “He is Our Light

  1. Barbie says:

    Hi Kim! I am visiting from Kim’s “Encore” link up today. Thank you for this reminder that God is my light and I have nothing to fear. I love all of the scriptures you used in your post!

    • Kim B. says:

      Thank you for stopping by! I LOVE Kim’s blog, she is such a GREAT person too :) Glad you loved the scriptures, it seizes to amaze me how God’s Words relate to us no matter what our circumstances may be. He has an answer for everything, we just have to find it!

  2. Hey, my friend! I visited and subscribed!!
    So thankful for the words you spoke into us, your readers. His word is powerful and life-changing.

    • Kim B. says:

      Thank you for visiting & subscribing! My you be as blessed at my blog as I was over at yours :) Isn’t it wonderful strengthening our walks together?! God is so good!

Comments are welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

