Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Attitude or Gratitude?

on August 1, 2012

     MY ATTITUDE

     When I was in the middle of my trial I found myself getting very discouraged.  I started questioning our decision on Jeff  quitting his job even though we KNEW it was what we were being called to do.  Once again I was reminded of the Israelites & how they too started grumbling on their journey to the promised land.  Take a look:

Exodus 16:2-3: In the desert the whole community grumbled against Moses and Aaron. The Israelites said to them, “If only we had died by the Lord’s hand in Egypt! There we sat around pots of meat and ate all the food we wanted, but you have brought us out into this desert to starve this entire assembly to death.”

     I loved how they conveniently chose to remember the food in Egypt, yet did not bring up their bondage & slavery.  I realized that I too was conveniently remembering  just the good times when reminiscing  about life pre-trial & not the bad.  That’s dangerous territory my friends as Satan will fill your mind with half-truths.  Yes, we did have a stable income, but we weren’t where God wanted us to be.  We now realize that God was faithful in refining us & purging us.  We needed to change & we needed God to change us in a way that only He could.  There’s even a verse in the Bible about not looking back, here it is:

Isaiah 43:18-19: Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past.  See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.

     I LOVE that verse as it totally stops me from dwelling on my convenient half-truths of the past & instead shifts my focus forward to my future post-trial.  He even tells me “I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”  He WAS at work in my trial & He WAS making a way out…..it was just up to us to continue to follow His way to find that way out.  Unfortunately, it took us a little longer to find that way out when we inadvertently got off His path & started following our own (which can be read about in my archived post titled, “Our Detour”). 

MY GRATITUDE

     My attitude started switching to gratitude after meditating on that verse above as well as:

Romans 8:28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

James 1:2-4 Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds,because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

     Rather then focusing on the pitfalls of my trial that were igniting my attitude, I knew I needed to focus on the blessings.  Yes, you read that right….blessings!  Believe it or not dear friends your trials do bring blessings!  After reading the verses above I was filled with gratitude knowing God WAS at work in my trial for my good.  Plus..the testing of my faith during this trial was producing perseverance so that I would not lack anything.  How could I possibly continue to have an attitude after reading those verses?!

     I remember sharing with my Bible study group about how hard it was to pray sometimes when things were so overwhelmingly stressful.  One of the girls asked me if I was praying with an attitude of gratitude or just an attitude.  OUCH! GREAT point & totally made me stop & think.  My prayers were ALL about requests & very little gratitude.  Since that day I have made a point to start my prayers with gratitude & to pray for my attitude :)  How about you?  Do you have an attitude of gratitude or just an attitude?  I hope you can find some gratitude along with me as I’m continuing on to Canaan.


13 responses to “Attitude or Gratitude?

  1. rebecca says:

    I love that verse from Isaiah: “I am doing a new thing!” You’re so right–when we remember past times, we almost always see them through rose-colored glasses, and that leads to discontentment. We need to embrace the “new thing!” Romans 8:28 has become my constant mantra and prayer. A lot changed for me when I realized that my “good” wasn’t always what I excepted or wanted; it is becoming more sanctified. Accepting that goes a long way in walking through disappointments.

    • Kim B. says:

      Thanks Rebecca! Isn’t it funny how we all seem to have a pair of those rose colored glasses? :) I LOVED how you said we need to embrace the “new thing”. That’s what I’m praying for & I’ll be praying for you too!

  2. Kim, What a great reminder to keep an attitude OF gratitude. Wonderful post my Friend!!!

  3. Great verses! Great inspiration.
    Thank you for your transparent writing. I totally appreciate a heart wide open for all to see.
    Have a blessed rest of the day…

    • Kim B. says:

      Thank you Stefanie! God has really humbled me. It’s not about me, but what God is doing within me. That’s why I LOVED your portrait post, really made me think about what my portrait wouldsay about me? So thought provoking! So blessed to have found your blog!

  4. It’s amazing hearing all that you have been learning…very great reminder to be grateful!

    • Kim B. says:

      I know huh?! God has really drawn me closer to Him & I’vegrownA LOT as a result of this trial :) Thank youfor your continued encouragement!

  5. Stephanie says:

    You have blessed me with this post! What a great reminder!

  6. cherieinhim says:

    Sister, you are SO awesome! What a blessing you are to my life!!!!! Praying for you in every way. I know that I need to constantly stay in a state of gratitude . . . praying for the Spirit to work within me!
    Love you sister!
    Cherie

  7. Jacqui says:

    Oh, Kim, I love this!! I went back and read “Detour” and so glad I did before commenting! I really relate with all of both posts! Isn’t God so good, to take our mistakes and use them for His glory! It can be so hard in the midst of it, but when we’re finally able to take our eyes off the circumstances and turn them to the Lord seeking what it is that He wants us to learn…being grateful for the good things He has not withheld…He’s so faithful to provide our every need…financial, emotional, spiritual…we will not lack! And the verse about streams in the desert, has been one I’ve clung to many times in my life! Through every desert He promises those streams…we will find them if we really look! So glad to have met you, and look forward to reading more of your posts:)

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Jacqui! I just loved your reminder that “He has not withheld, He IS faithful & we will NOT lack!” Thank you for your kind words! I’mreally happy to have found your blog &LOVED your post on Perseverance and Spiritual WarfareI LOVE how God brings us all together to encourage & uplift one another :)

Comments are welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

