Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Pressing On…

on September 27, 2012

Philippians 3:14 (75 kb)

      

     Pressing on is where I’m at right now.  I AM determined to finish the cleaning up stage of our trial.  However, I am finding myself exhausted right now.  Instead of continuing on to Canaan, I find myself wanting to get off the path & just sit for a while.  But I can’t!  I was an athlete growing up & am still VERY competitive to this day.  I look at everything as a game situation.  I don’t give up as giving up means I’ve quit & athletes don’t quit, they persevere.  This is one of the reasons I love reading about Paul.  Paul reminds me of the type of player everyone wanted on their team.  Look at what he says here:

Philippians 3:14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Philippians 4:11-13 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

1 Corinthians 9:24-25 Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last, but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.

2 Timothy 2:5 Similarly, anyone who competes as an athlete does not receive the victor’s crown except by competing according to the rules.

     Did you catch that?  I won’t receive my victor’s crown unless I compete according to the rules.  What are my rules as a Christian?  To trust & obey.  I have to continue to trust God & that He IS continuing to make something beautiful out of this mess.  I have to continue to obey Him when He calls me to do something that I really would rather not do.  He’s calling me to press on & I need to obey & put my running shoes back on.  Just like it says here:

Hebrews 12:1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.

     I am a running witness as others are watching me to see how I act/re-act to what God is doing in my life.  I need to purge the sins/thoughts that are entangling me & making my journey that much more unbearable.  I need to find my determination to continue on this path that God has me on.  Is there something that God is calling you to keep pressing on towards?  Are you determined to keep pressing on or like me, do you find yourself wanting to get off the path & rest?  I’m praying for you & that you’ll keep pressing on as that’s just what I’m doing as I’m to continuing on to Canaan.

 

4 responses to “Pressing On…

  1. “I won’t receive my victor’s crown unless I compete according to the rules.” Wow! Convicting and encouraging this morning! Thanks, Kim!

  2. Hi Kim,

    This is Jonna from Get Off Your Butt and BAKE.
    UPS has tried twice now to deliver you Blendtec Blender. They will only try once more before sending it back to the Co.
    If you can’t be home today, you need to call UPS to hold it for you at their center, or they will send it back today. Hope you get it! Email me at jonnalwarnke@gmail.com, and verify that you received me email or this comment.

    Thanks,

    Jonna
    Get Off Your Butt and BAKE

  3. Jacqui says:

    Hey Kim, what a refreshing post! I’ve definitely been discouraged lately (honestly, even battled just quitting writing) which is ridiculous!! I know God’s called me to write, even if no one in the world read my blog, I’d still have this itching in me to keep it up. And each one of these verses has encouraged my heart. Thanks for being obedient in your trial. And thanks for continuing to share what you learn. Love you much, friend!

    • Kim B. says:

      WoW!! Thanks Jacqui :) It IS hard to keep going when life tends to pull you down or even in the opposite direction! There have been a couple times where I truly wasn’t in the writing Spirit & skipped a week. Usually during those off weeks, I’ll just pray that God would send me some inspiration for the next week so that I don’t stay in my funk, but press on :) I love how you admit you write for you. That’s why I LOVE wordpress, it only tells me my followers who follow via email or wordress. I have NO IDEA who follows me through any other reader. It’s not about the numbers, but about what God is doing in my life & writing about it so that I’ll always remember! Thank you Jacqui for your honesty, humble heart & desire to live & love like Jesus. You’re such a blessing to me! XOXO

      ________________________________

Comments are welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

