Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Be Strong and Courageous!

on October 25, 2012

Joshua 4:24 (117 kb)

     When I found out I was going to be studying the book of Joshua in my Bible study I got really excited.  It seizes to amaze me that no matter where I am in His word, it always applies to me & whatever I’m going through at that time.  God’s word truly is the same yesterday, today and forever!

       The book of Joshua opens up with God commanding Joshua to take over for Moses.  I love how God didn’t ask Joshua if he wanted to lead the people into Canaan, He told him he was going to do it.   God is direct, even today.  God knew Joshua was probably nervous and overwhelmed with what He was asking.  As a result, He tells Joshua:

Joshua 1:9 Have I not commanded you?  Be strong and courageous.  Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

     How comforting are those words?  God is speaking those same words to us today.  Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged.  Why? Because God Himself said He WILL be with us WHEREVER we go.  He doesn’t put us on a path and then hug us good-bye.  No, God puts us on our path and then takes the journey with us, each and every step.

      When it came time for the Israelites to cross the Jordan into Canaan,  Joshua once again immediately obeys God.  God tells Joshua to inform the priests that when they reach the edge of the Jordan’s waters, to go and stand in the river.  Bare in mind people, these priests are ALSO carrying the ark of the covenant.  Now I don’t know about you, but I have a hard time going into a river on a horse, let alone by myself, let alone carrying an ark.  I kept going back, trying to find the verse where the priests grumbled and told Joshua he was crazy.  As you all know, there is no such verse.  They too obeyed and walked in the raging river remembering what God had done at the Red Sea:

Joshua 4:23b The Lord your God did to the Jordan just what He had done to the Red Sea when He dried it up before us until we had crossed over.

     After the nation had crossed over the dry river, God asked Joshua to call 1 man from each of the 12 tribes. God wanted them to take a stone from the middle of the riverbed precisely where the priests stood and put them down where they were staying that night. God had them build a memorial as an everlasting reminder for generations to come.

     God is a God of miracles and He knows how we tend to forget all He has done.  We forget how powerful He is.  We have His amazing book filled with miracle upon miracle, hope against hope and yet when trials come (or we’re asked to step out of our comfort zone) we forget and fear, complain and/or argue with God.  Let’s look at the reminders God has given us in His word:

1 Chronicles 16:12 Remember the wonders he has done, his miracles, and the judgments he pronounced

Isaiah 41:10 fear not, for I am with you;  be not dismayed, for I am your God;  I will strengthen you, I will help you,  I will uphold you with my  righteous right hand

Matthew 19:26 But Jesus looked at them and said,  “With man this is impossible,  but with God all things are possible.”

Philippians 4:13  I can do all things through him who strengthens me.

2 Timothy 1:7 for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and  self-control.

     Whatever it is that God is asking you to do today, it is my prayer that you remember the miracles God has done in your life.  By remembering these miracles may you surrender to Him knowing that what He was capable of doing in the past (Red Sea), He is more than capable of doing in your future (Jordan River).  I know I’m going be remembering all God has done for me as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

2 responses to “Be Strong and Courageous!

  1. cherieinhim says:

    I LOVE the study of Joshua! I can’t tell you how much I’ve learned from it!!! NEVER forget the Red Sea!! Boy, I need to catch up with you sister . . . life is crazy, all is well, but we could REALLY use the prayers as our life is now taking a fun detour! ; )
    You are simply the best! My cheerleader . . . you strengthen me so much!
    Thank you sister!
    Biggest hugs,
    Cherie

  2. Nikki Rosen says:

    I love the book of Joshua…..and the faith to see past the impossible situation. Today I’m choosing to praise and trust Him to bring good out of yuck….thanks for your encouraging post. It’s what I needed today…

Comments are welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

