Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

I CAN Do ALL Things…

on November 12, 2012

     I absolutely love this picture that I found on www.heartlight.org.  It really describes how I’m feeling right now.  Overwhelmed!  I was blessed to have started a part-time job working from home last week.  I am a comment moderator for a popular website.  The drawback is that I work from 11-3AM.  Thankfully, I don’t work every night, but the night’s I do, means I don’t go to bed till 3:30 & then I’m up with my boys at 7:00.

     My friend referred me to the job as she too works the 11-3am shift.  When she’s on, I’m off & vice versa.  She has done this for over a year & is continually assuring me I WILL adjust to the lack of sleep.  I don’t believe her! Ha!  What I DO believe is that, ” I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13. 

     I’m a firm believer that if God brings me to it, He’ll get me through it. I have been praying for a part-time job that would allow me to still be with my boys when they’re not in school.  I applied for 4 jobs to no avail.  In my heart, I was relieved I didn’t get those jobs as even though I’d be working while my boys were in school, I’d still have to make some sacrifices.  I’d have to give up my Tuesday morning Bible Study, I’d have to quit volunteering as a childcare worker at my church on Thursday mornings, I’d no longer get to grab a coffee with my friends here & there & I’d have to give up my solo beach days alone with God.   I basically would lose my time.  Then there was the other problem of what to do when my boys were off of school for holidays & Summer vacation. 

     That’s how I knew this job was a blessing from God.  NONE of my concerns listed above are effected by it.  I did spend A LOT of time in prayer asking God for His reassurance that I would be able to function with my new sleeping schedule & He was truly faithful in sending me His assurances:

Exodus 33:14 The Lord replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.”

Matthew 11:28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.

Mark 6:31b “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.”

Hebrews 4:10 for anyone who enters God’s rest also rests from their works,  just as God did from His.

     After finding assurance through prayer & God’s Word, I called my friend to find out how to go about applying.  Within a week, I interviewed, got the job & have already started working.  One thing I learned from this experience is that when God acts, things just seem to fall into place.  When we act, we seem to have to shove & push things in order to fall into place.  Even if our plans do fall into place, they’re NEVER perfect like the plans God has for us.

     When God’s plans seem too difficult to do remember, we are not left alone to adjust.  HE is with us, strengthening us & equipping us to succeed.  Knowing that this job is a gift from God truly is helping me to persevere with my struggles.  How about you?  Are you struggling with something God has blessed you with?  Are you tapping into His Word to find the strength you need to persevere?  Are you spending time in prayer with Him pouring out your heart & asking for wisdom & knowledge to discern what He wants you to do vs what you think you should do? 

     I’m praying for you and that you won’t be crippled with the heavier load He may be asking you to carry.  It is my prayer that instead you would feel His hands helping you carry that extra weight.  I know I’m thankful for His hands helping me as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

 

    

2 responses to “I CAN Do ALL Things…

  1. Jacqui says:

    Kim, congratulations on your new job! I’ll remember to pray for you…God’s strength to adjust and get you through. I must agree with you that when God’s working we don’t have to shove doors open, they kind-of just fall in place. I’ve definitely been learning that lately! It’s helped to discern what’s of me and what’s of Him! Anyway, hope it all goes well! Hugs :)

  2. cherieinhim says:

    “If God brings me to it, He’ll get me through it.” . . . love this!

    Sister, PRAYING for you!!!

    Wanted to wish you a Happy Thanksgiving! I’m am so grateful for your friendship. Your prayers have worked miracles in my life. ; ) So, my new book should release in the next 2-3 weeks! Hoping I can send you a copy for review!! ; )
    Biggest hugs and LOTS of love!!!
    Cherie

Comments are welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

