Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

JOY

on January 7, 2013

JOY JOY2

     As 2012 was coming to a close I started doing a lot of thinking about 2013.  Everytime I started praying or just thinking I kept being filled with the word JOY.  Sure enough, that word started popping up here and there at just the right times.  I was at a Bible study Christmas party where we did an ornament exchange.  I saw this beautiful pine ornament with the word Joy on it and told my friend that, that was the ornament for me.  Unfortunately, someone else grabbed it and it was not meant to be.  The next week my friend presented me with a little gift.  That gift is the ornament you see in the pictures above.  The other ornament may have been nice, but I knew this one was a gift not only from my friend, but from God too.  How special that the ornament was in the shape of a gift as well?!  The best part was the verse on the back, God had given me a verse to go with my word!  Here are some other verses that deal with joy:

Psalms 5:11-12 But let all who take refuge in you rejoice; let them ever sing for joy, and spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may exult in you. For you bless the righteous, O LORD; you cover him with favor as with a shield.

Psalms 63:5-7 My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips, when I remember you upon my bed, and meditate on you in the watches of the night; for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.

Proverbs 10:28 The hope of the righteous brings joy, but the expectation of the wicked will perish.

Romans 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

     I’m going to be honest here and tell you that some days it’s hard to think about my word.  Some days life doesn’t feel very joy-filled, but you know what?  I really believe God is preparing me for those days right now by having me concentrate on being joy filled, ESPECIALLY when I don’t feel like it. 

     As most of you know from reading my prior post I joined up with other people over at http://www.rachelwojo.com to read my Bible in a year.  I’m only on day 7, but WOW, has God really been speaking to me through his Word.  Verses I normally just read over are now popping out at me and giving me joy.  I find myself wanting to read more in order to be filled more :)  God is at work!

     How about you?  What is your word for 2013?  Where do you see God working in your life?  I know some days are easier than others, but what’s important is that you keep seeking Him in order to have the strength to make it through those tough days.  I know I’m glad He’s filled me with joy to prepare me for what lies ahead as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

13 responses to “JOY

  1. Joy is a wonderful word for 2013! And the only way we can have true joy is in relationship with Jesus. Circumstances change and along with that happiness but joy lasts even in the midst of difficulty. He is our strength and our shield. So glad you decided to blog and that we are both in this Facebook group together.

    • Kim B. says:

      I LOVE that Debbie! The only way we can have TRUE joy is in a relationship with Jesus. I have to be IN it, not just a part of it….girl, you got me thinking :) GREAT words & I’m grateful you shared them! Looking forward to growing together :) Blessings!

      ________________________________

  2. Joy – I post about joy all the time. My favorite word ever but I chose for this year “Less”. Less of me, MORE of Him! Love your post and I love that ornament. I would snatch it if I could find it. It is beautiful. Thanks for sharing. Blessings! Debbie Williams

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Debbie! LOVED your post on crossing the Jordan River! So inspiring reading about your journey :) LOVE your word too! Made me stop & think what I need to be less of & instead be more of, very inspiring! Thank you for stopping by :)

      ________________________________

  3. YAY! Love this story of the ornament. We serve a detailed God. :) So blessed to have you linked up and reading with us!

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Rachel! Sooo thankful to God for your blog & how it has literally changed my life this year! By inspiring me to read His Word EVERY day I am growing more in Him & LOVING it! You are truly an amazing inspiring woman who in turn inspires us :) Blessings!

      ________________________________

  4. Thanks hope she ordered it!

  5. Love this!!! I haven’t felt led to a Word this year…. But I am loving the stories of those who did. And your story is so inspiring. Thank you so so much for sharing…. you always have such a sweet message from which to glean. Love your heart. Hugs Friend!!

  6. Love this! That verse is the tagline for my blog, serving joyfully…and is my prayer for readers.

    What a sweet friend! Great word, and I pray that God will bless you in it :)

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Crystal! Thank you for popping over to my blog :) Love your blog too, what a great ministry! Thank you for such sweet words & prayers! Blessings!

      ________________________________

Comments are welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

