Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

On Clearance…

on February 20, 2013

Image     For those of you who know me personally, you know my FAVORITE grocery store is Fresh & Easy!  One of the many many reasons I LOVE Fresh & Easy is due to their clearance aisle.  You see, one of the many benefits of fresh food is that it doesn’t have a long shelf life. As a result, Fresh & Easy drastically discounts their food on the day of expiration & displays it in the clearance aisle.  Same thing with flowers & plants.  As you can see from my picture I snagged this sorry excuse of a flower for a mere $1.75.  I am now determined to bring this flower back to its beautiful state that I know it once was.  

     As I set the flower on my window sill I couldn’t help but see myself in that plant.  I sometimes feel like my flower has quickly faded & I am not who God made me to be.  I believe we are His beautiful creation which has the ability to bloom & shine.  However, life happens & sometimes our flowers dry up & our beauty fades.  We feel discouraged & wonder if we’ll ever bloom again.  We put ourselves on the clearance shelf. 

     It’s on the clearance shelf that we have to trust that God can restore us.  Like me & my vision for the above flower, God too has a vision for us.  God wants to take us off the clearance shelf & love us & nurture us back to the blooming flower we once were.  The question isn’t if He can do it, but rather, will we allow Him?  Sometimes, it’s easier to feel sorry for ourselves & wallow in our dejected state.  We stop praying, reading our Bibles & seeking God.  We stay in the moment, rather than seeking God to get us out the moment.  Here are some verses on being rejuvenated:

Colossians 3:10 and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator

Titus 3:5  He saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of His mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit.

Psalm 51:10 Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.

So if you too feel like you’re flowers faded & you’ve been put on the clearance aisle, take heart!  I promise God won’t leave you there.  He too likes to restore the beauty from our sorry old state :)  How about it? Will you let Him?  I know I’m looking forward to my flower blooming once again as I’m continuing on to Caanan.

4 responses to “On Clearance…

  1. Monica Potter says:

    I love this!!!!! Thanks do sharing -you need Your Own show sister! ..xx monica

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Kim B. says:

      Oh Monica you are TOO kind!! Glad you loved it :) May you continue to be the BEAUTIFUL flower God made you to be! XOXO

      ________________________________

  2. Jenni says:

    I know what you mean by wallowing in a dejected state and staying in the moment. Although it is not a positive place to be, it feels comfortable for some weird reason. Just remember – you are his masterpiece! He sees in you way more that you could possibly see in yourself. Just like you with your kiddos. You see everything beautiful in them no matter how they feel. God, you father, sees everything beautiful in YOU! So, I challenge you to close your eyes and picture you, Kim, as this beautiful, colorful, strong flower. That’s what God sees! Remember – you see you now, but he is way way way past this. He’s already there! (Casting Crowns – “Already There”)

    • Kim B. says:

      You are SO right Jenni!! Why does it feel so comfortable wallowing in our dejected state?! Thank you too for the reminder that He’s already there! Closing my eyes now & seeing me as one amazing flower :) Blessings dear friend!!

      ________________________________

Comments are welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

