Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

2013….One Year Later

on April 24, 2013

   Proverbs 10:30 (47 kb)

      As the boys school year starts to wind down, I can’t help but be reminded of how far we have come in almost a year!  I started this blog in May of 2012 as a way to “journal” God’s presence in our life during one of our most difficult trials EVER.  Not only did I want to remember how God got us through our trial, I also wanted to give hope to others who may be experiencing their own trial.  The Holy Spirit placed this verse on my heart: 2 Corinthians 1:4 He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us.  God made it clear that although my journey was going to be hard, He would be walking alongside me strengthening me, so that I in turn can strengthen others through Him.  Although, God did bring sisters into my life for me to encourage, I wasn’t prepared for the many sisters God brought into my life to encourage me & pray with me, giving me back my hope when I felt all hope was lost.  

     At this time last year, Jeff & I were both unemployed.  You know that light that you tend to see at the end of the tunnel, we weren’t seeing it.  All we could see was hardly any money coming in, bills that needed to be paid & a house that we most likely were going to have to sell.  When it came to the possibility of leaving our home, the fighter in me kicked in & I was DETERMINED that I wasn’t going to sell our house, unless God Himself demanded it.  To me, sometimes the easy way out is another way of giving up and giving in.  I wasn’t about to give up or give in.  This was my home & I wasn’t going down without a fight!

     Why all the passion you ask?  Well, Jeff & I have been married almost 23 years.  During those 23 years we have moved 13 times & lived in 4 different states.  Not by choice, but God’s will.  The longest we have ever lived in one house has been 2 years!!  When we moved into this home back in 2006, I prayed that God would PLEASE let us finally drop roots & grow.  We LOVE where we live.  We have a GREAT church, our school district is ranked amongst the top rated districts in the state, we are 20 minutes from the beach, & oh ya, we live at the end of a cul-de-sac with great neighbors!  I waited 16 years for this type of stability & was feeling pretty blessed.  So when our trial threatened to shake that stability I knew I needed to arm myself with Scripture & start praying for my house & most IMPORTANTLY that my will WOULD align with God’s will.  I felt I needed to claim Scriptures & just keep praying over my house.  I also happened to read a really good book during this time too called The Circle Maker by  Mark Batterson.  For those of you who have read this book, I know you understand where I’m coming from :)

     Here are the Scriptures that I lifted up daily in hopes of keeping our home:

Proverbs 10:30 The righteous will never be uprooted, but the wicked will not remain in the land.

Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

Jeremiah 42:10 “‘If you stay in this land, I will build you up and not tear you down; I will plant you and not uproot you, for I have relented concerning the disaster I have inflicted on you.”

John 15:7 If you remain in me and follow My teachings, you can ask anything you want, and it will be given to you.

Ephesians 3:20 “Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be the glory in the Church and in Jesus.

     Well friends, I’m thrilled to report that we are staying in our home :)  As you know, Jeff got a job back in July & I was able to find a part-time job back in October.  We’re still digging ourselves out of this mess, but we have a much bigger shovel & can feel God digging right along side us.  How are you all doing on your journey?  For those of you who have been with me for the long haul, has God answered some prayers in your life or is He still working things out in His timing?  I’m thankful for God’s answered prayer regarding our home, and am continuing to pray for answered prayers with other loose ends from our trial.  I know my journey’s not over, but I praise God that I now can see the light as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

7 responses to “2013….One Year Later

  1. beckybarnfather says:

    OH, so happy for you — but it has been amazing to see the growth in both your lives :) Love you! Becky

    • Kim B. says:

      Thanks Becky! YES, it has been amazing watching our own growth as God stretched us farther then we thought possible! I can truly say that God does has a purpose for our trials & we can either grow & persevere or fight it & remain stagnant. I’m so thankful Jeff & I chose to grow! Love you too my dear sister :)

      ________________________________

  2. Jacqui says:

    Hi Kim, I loved reading this, because I feel like I’ve gotten to follow you on this journey for a year now – ever since discovering your blog. What a great testimony! God is so good! Anyway, so glad to read an update and hear that all is going well. Blessings and love. -Jacqui

    • Kim B. says:

      Yes, you have been with me through A LOT of hard posts Jacqui :) I love how God led us to each others blogs to uplift & inspire one another! Blessings & love to you too dear sister! XOXO

      ________________________________

  3. Jenni says:

    A home is important to a woman – a place to nurture her family and express her love by making it beautiful. Women reflect God’s beauty, like men reflect God’s strength (and vice versa, amongst many other characteristics of God). Our home is where we have a chance to reflect God’s beauty for those we love the most. Although this is just a temporary home, and our real home in Glory will exceed our greatest expectations, it’s a source of comfort on earth however lavish or humble. I am so happy that you all get to “stay home” and make more sweet memories there! Can I come visit? :) We serve an awesome God -Amen!?! xo

    • Kim B. says:

      Sooo beautifully said Jenni!! My door is always open to you & your kiddos!! Wouldn’t that be a FUN time!! Blessings my friend :)

      ________________________________

  4. […] 2013….One Year Later Dec […]

Comments are welcome!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

