Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Believe….

on May 24, 2012

     Welcome back!  First off, I’m guest posting today over at an AMAZING blog called “Always Alleluia”.  You can head over to http://alwaysalleluia.com/  if you’d like to check it out!  I found Kris’s blog while on this journey & her words of wisdom & encouragement have inspired me & helped me through some tough days.  She truly has a heart for our Lord & I’m so thankful to be a part of her blog today!

      For those of you just joining the journey, feel free to catch yourselves up by clicking on my prior posts to the right.  If you’re reading this via email, then you’ll have to click over to my blog page first.

     As soon as the next pay period arrived & nothing was deposited in our account I got my first glimmer of “reality”.  The money was no longer coming from Jeff’s prior employer as Christ was our new boss.  My first reaction was to panic & then I started seeing something every where I went….the word BELIEVE.   I first spotted it at HomeGoods.  I was in the clearance section (my favorite section!) when I saw a star pillow with the word BELIEVE written across the front.   Then on my way to check out, there was a travel mug with the word BELIEVE written on it.  Seriously?!  Next thing I knew all these secular stores were reminding me to believe.  A candle from Marshalls, a  white sign from Kohls, a butterfly pail from Michaels, a coffee mug from Burlington Coat Factory!  Every time I started to doubt what we did, poof, I’d be faced with the word BELIEVE.  I thought it was hysterical come Christmas when it was plastered all over Macy’s shopping bags.  Now don’t get me wrong, I KNOW Macy’s wasn’t telling me to believe in God & what He was doing in my life, but that’s how I took it.  What they meant to be secular, I took to be spiritual.

     Believe….a word I totally took for granted prior to this leap.   Sure I believe in Jesus & have accepted Him as my Lord & Savior as Acts 16:31 states:  “Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved-you and your household. ”  But now God was asking me to not only believe in Him & His Word, but to also trust Him & His Word.  You know, Mark 5:36: Overhearing what they said, Jesus told him, “Don’t be afraid; just believe.”   Don’t be afraid, God knew my heart come “payday”.  God knew the fear was starting to come & God continued to remind me not to be afraid, but to believe.  I was reminded of these 2 scriptures:

 Isaiah 41:10 So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Deuteronomy 31:6 “Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”

     As you can see from the pictures above, I literally bought every believe thing I came across, with exception to the black believe sign.  My girlfriend April made that for me.  I can’t tell you how many times I have looked at that sign & felt God reassuring me to believe.  I have all my believe memorabilia scattered throughout my house.    I’m glad I do, whenever doubt creeps in & Satan wants to control the voices in my head I see my Godly reminders!  In my  master bedroom & bathroom, living room, family room, kitchen, it’s all there!  That black believe wall sticker you see above, that’s in my downstairs bathroom, right at eye level if you catch my drift 🙂  Just in case anyone visiting needs a reminder too! 

     So there we were, self-employed, with the word BELIEVE reassuring us as we headed out on our journey.  A journey that soon went from following God’s will to then unintentionally following our own.  I’ll tell you about that detour next week as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

2 responses to “Believe….

  1. Thanks so much Kim for sharing your heart on my blog. I pray that you continue to believe and have faith as you continue on your journey! God bless you, sweet sister!!

  2. Kim B. says:

    Thank you Kris! You have truly helped me on my journey more then you know 🙂

Comments are welcome!

