Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Rays of Light

on June 14, 2012

     One of my favorite things to see is the sun’s rays peering through dark stormy clouds & illuminating the sky.  I can’t help but think that amongst my darkest days, God’s rays of light are just waiting to peer through my darkness & illuminate my day.  Throughout this trail I have encountered MANY rays of light when my journey took me through some dark days. 

     The first ray of light God brought into my life was Cherie Hill.  Cherie Hill is an AMAZING author & blogger.  You can find her blog here http://cheriehillblog.blogspot.com/  Cherie also has a website called Scripture Now where she will email you scriptures to inspire you.  That website is http://www.scripturenow.com/ I stumbled across Cherie while searching for Christian books to read on my kindle that dealt with trusting God, faith, hope, etc.  Her books are as follows & can be found at: http://www.amazon.com

Be Still: Let Jesus Calm Your Storms

Beginning at the End: Finding God When Your World Falls Apart

Waiting On God

The Ways of God

Hope Being Gone

Be Still

     I have read every single one of her books & have highlighted probably 80% in each of them!!  YES, they are THAT inspiring!  They have truly helped get me back on my feet with a new outlook on conquering my trail & not succumbing to it!  Even if you are not currently in a trial, Cherie’s blog, website & books will help prepare you for the next one you WILL be experiencing according to 1 Peter 4:12: Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery trial when it comes upon you to test you, as though something strange were happening to you.  So don’t be surprised when you trial comes, instead be prepared!

       This was made for me by my blogger friend D who you can find at http://theshadyporch.blogspot.com/  D is on a blog vacation for the Summer, but will be back come Fall 🙂  I won a Fall themed subway art on D’s blog that she made & I LOVED it!  I asked her if she would mind making me one of all the words that God had placed in my heart to help me persevere on my journey.  As you can see, she did an AMAZING job!  I have this on my armoire in my bedroom where it’s the first thing I see each morning when getting out of bed.  It’s a GREAT way to start my day!  D has also faithfully emailed me & prays for me. 

     Then there’s Kim from http://www.athomewithkim.com/ I stumbled upon Kim’s blog in search of healthy recipes.  She is also a Christian whose blog not only talks about healthy living, but also has some Godly inspiration too 🙂  Kim is another sweet friend who gave me a shout out on her blog in order to help get the word out about my blog.  She too emails me to check in & is praying for me!

     I have already talked about Kris on a prior post, but want to mention her again for those who are new to my blog.  Kris blogs at http://alwaysalleluia.com/ She was kind enough to let me guest post on her blog here: http://alwaysalleluia.com/2012/05/24/trust-god-the-father-guest-post/.  Her blog is amazingly inspiring!  I know I will be refreshed & renewed after reading it.

     I met Ruthie at one of my Bible studies when she overheard me telling my friend about Jeff quitting his job.  When my friend walked away, Ruthie leaned over & told me she would be praying for me & handed me her blog card.  Her blog is http://ruthiesgift.blogspot.com/  Ruthie was diagnosed with ovarian cancer 2 days after her 43rd birthday.  Her blog is an amazing testimony of her journey & her focus is, “You can’t do cancer without God”  Her perseverance through her trail is truly inspiring as she keeps her focus on God & not her cancer.  Ruthie recently mailed me a picture of the words BE STILL written on a chalkboard beautifully framed above her fireplace.  That picture is now on my fridge as a daily reminder not only to be still, but of Ruthie & her beautiful heart!

     It wasn’t by chance that I stumbled upon ALL these woman.  God led me to them knowing I needed their rays of light to brighten my dark days.  It seizes to amaze me how God continues to work like that.  He knows exactly what we need to continue on our journey.  My next post I will share about my family & friends & how they continue to support & embrace us during this trial.  I will also share about some more AMAZING books.  In the meantime, I’ve got a great book to get back to as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

   

    

7 responses to “Rays of Light

  1. Ruthie says:

    So sweet of you to include me on your blog. I can’t wait to sit back and read the blogs of all the other women you mentioned. I’m in for a good time! Looking forward to you coming to one of our classes in the future!
    xox
    Ruthie

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Ruthie! Hope you liked the blogs I mentioned! I too am looking forward to coming to one of your classes 🙂 I know I will be in for a FUN day!

      Blessings!

  2. Hi Kim! First off, thank you for the blog shout out. I’m so glad the www brought us together. 🙂 And I’m going to check out these other blogs…. Love finding new ones!!!

  3. […] through an email from Cherie Hill.  You may remember me talking about Cherie in my post here: https://canaanboundbrigade.wordpress.com/2012/06/14/rays-of-light/ Anyway, Cherie just always seems to know when I need a lift & it’s no coincidence that on […]

  4. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is
    required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100%
    sure. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Many thanks

  5. Es wird immer propagiert, man sollte – wie man das
    früher so gemacht hat – erstmal ein Jahr oder noch länger durch alle Abteilungen einer großen Firma rotieren und alles kennenlernen, um dann mit der vollen Kenntnis der Probleme der ganzen Organisation auch
    fruchtbar sein zu können, weil man das Ganze verstanden hat.

Comments are welcome!

