Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Our Family

on June 21, 2012

Once we lost our savings I became very bitter. I couldn’t understand why God would allow us to lose everything. That was the LAST thing we thought would happen after we obediently took our leap of faith & followed His will. I soon realized that most things don’t happen the way I expect since my ways are not necessarily God’s. Just like God says in:

Isaiah 55:9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

God had something else in store. Trials are prime opportunities for Satan to crush you….if you let him. I know Satan wants this trial to harm me, but I also know that God wants to use this trial to bless me like it says in:

Genesis 50:20 You planned to harm me. But God planned it for good.

Instead of focusing on the pitfalls of this trial, I choose to focus on the blessings. One such blessing is my greater appreciation & gratefulness for my parents.

My parents have completely embraced us on this journey. They have prayed for us, offered words of wisdom & comfort, emailed/texted encouraging scriptures, provided for us when needed & most importantly supported us for following God’s will. I have always been close to my parents, but when this trial started closing in on me, my relationship with my parents took on a whole new meaning. I realized I had taken them for granted when life was easy. After EVERYTHING I have been through these past couple of months, I no longer take them for granted. I now realize how truly blessed I am to have them in my life & I honestly couldn’t have continued on this journey without them. I realized that no matter where our journey takes us, my parents will always be there to help in ANY way they can.

My gramma has touched me in ways she’ll never completely understand. Jeff & I got married while he was still in college playing football back East. My gramma & grandpa used to mail us letters with money enclosed as a treat to use on ourselves. That was 22 years ago! When our oldest son went off to college 3 years ago, my gramma started mailing him letters with some money for him to have as a treat. When our trial started do you know what my gramma did? She started mailing us letters once again with some money for us to have as a treat. Her letters are another blessing that I am receiving as a result of this trial. Jeff’s mom has been faithfully praying for us & calling Jeff weekly to give him words of wisdom as well as share scriptures. My brother John & his wife Becky have also been praying for us. Becky started her blog 2 years ago & then introduced me to blogging. Her blog can be found here: http://organizingmadefun.blogspot.com/

My sister-n-law Jeanene & her husband Justin have brought me many smiles on days I didn’t feel like smiling. They have been on their own journey & are full of wisdom & encouragement to help me continue on mine. They too are praying for us!

Jeff & I are TRULY blessed to both come from Christian families who pray for us, encourage us & understand that as Christians this is all part of our walks & that God DOES have a plan for our trial. I can’t tell you how many AMAZING conversations we’ve had at our house with our families on all the ways God is working in our lives. Not only are we growing from our trial, but our family is too as they watch God at work in the midst of all this. My go to verse right now in overcoming our trial is:

Matthew 19:26 Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

I know when Jeff quit his job our families didn’t plan on joining us on our journey, but they have & together we are all continuing on to Canaan.

2 responses to “Our Family

  1. Ruthie says:

    What a foundation God has provided for you in your family and in Jeff’s. What a beautiful blessing! Always silver linings among storms — provided God is our umbrella! 🙂
    Love reading your blog!
    Ruthie

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Ruthie! I LOVED how youpointed outthat God is my umbrella in the midst of the storms! I honestly NEVER thought of it that way & being the visual person that I am LOVE that vision. I AM protected under God’s umbrella! Thank you for that 🙂 May we all open up our Godly umbrellas when our storms come!

Comments are welcome!

