Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Got Worry?

on June 28, 2012

     Where do you turn when worry starts to take over your mind & turn a sunny day into a dark one?  The first thing I start to do when worry starts to overwhelm me is pray.  I’ve found too that if I start my prayers praising God & thanking Him for my blessings it then helps me to focus more on what’s going right vs what’s going wrong. 

     After praying I like to look up verses in my Bible to remind me of God’s promises.  Sometimes I just blindly start reading, other times I’ll actually do a search on my computer for “Scriptures on worrying.” 

     Although, your Bible should be the first book you go to for answers, I’m also an AVID reader.  It’s completely normal for me to be reading 2-3 books at a time. When my trial started my mom & dad bought me some AMAZING books which have helped me TREMENDOUSLY during this trail. They are:

Anxious for Nothing by John MacArthur.  One of the things I LOVED about this book is that after finishing the book, the back has a study guide where you then go back to each chapter & answers questions, followed by a prayer guide & then an “assignment” to put into play what you learned.   You can use the book for an actual group Bible study or like me, do it on your own.  Also included is an entire chapter of Psalms for the anxious.   Some of my favorite quotes from the book are: Anxiety is blatant distrust of the power and the love of God,  Jesus wants us to realize it doesn’t make sense to believe God can save us from eternal hell, but not help us in the practical matters of life and lastly, Jesus gives us, His children three reasons for not worrying about this life: It is unnecessary because of our Father, it is uncharacteristic because of our faith, and it is unwise because of our future.  These are just a few examples on how uplifting this book is!

When Life is Hard by James MacDonald. This book is broken down in chapters including: What Are Trials? Why Trials? What to Do with Trials? What If I Refuse this Trial? Why Some Trials Never End? & Come Forth as Gold.  This book too has a study guide in the back.

A Steadfast Heart by Elyse Fitzpatrick.  This book is based on Psalm 57 which David wrote when he fled from Saul into the cave.  This book will help you experience God’s presence & comfort in trials.

Others books I read include:

The Gospel of the Canaan Journey by Herbert W. Byrne

A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23 by W. Phillip Keller

The Red Sea Rules: The Same God Who Led You In Will Lead You Out by Phillip J. Morgan

Life Interrupted: Navigating the Unexpected by Priscilla Shirer

Giving It All to Him by Max Lucado

Trials & Triumphs of Faith by Mary Cole

God Has a Plan for Your Life: The Discovery that Makes All the Difference By Dr. Charles F. Stanley

It’s Only a Flat Tire in the Rain: Navigating Life’s Bumpy Roads With Faith and Grace by Max Davis.

EVERY book written by Cherie Hill

     As you can see, reading is my hobby 🙂 As you can also see, so is worrying!  Here is a great website with Scriptures on worrying: http://www.whatchristianswanttoknow.com/bible-verses-about-worry-20-comforting-scripture-quotes/ 

     I HATE that I worry, especially because I know it’s a sin along with being fearful & anxious.  A sin I MUST overcome! It’s amazing how worry doesn’t tend to be just about today…..it spills into worrying about tomorrow & the next day.  My go to verse for worrying right now is:

Lamentations 3:22-23 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail.  They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

     The reason I like this verse is that it reminds me that God only gives me strength for today.  So how can I worry about tomorrow when God hasn’t given me the strength yet to face it?!  Let God meet you where you’re at EVERY morning, one day at a time.  Don’t jump to tomorrow just like we’re told in:

Matthew 6:34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.

     How about you?  Do you have any great books you’d like to share?  I’d LOVE to read more 🙂  Just let me know in the comments section as well as your favorite go to verse if you have one.  Until then, I’m praising my Savior for getting me through today & looking forward to Him strengthening me to face tomorrow as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

    

11 responses to “Got Worry?

  1. Ruthie says:

    Awesome resources. Will be forwarding this on to many! Saw you at VBS on Monday, but didn’t get a chance to say Hi!
    xox
    Ruthie

    • Kim B. says:

      Thank you Ruthie for passing along! It has always been my prayer to take what I’m learning from God & pass along to others 🙂 Sorry I missed you at VBS! I would’ve loved to have given you a hug :) Praying for you my friend!

  2. adrienne says:

    I saw you on pinterest. Calm My Anxious Heart by Linda Dillow is a great book. It’s on my nightstand permanently!

    • Kim B. says:

      Thank you sooo much for the recommendation!! I am definitely going to be checking it out :) I appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment. Blessings! Kim

  3. cherieinhim says:

    WOW sister, this is a great reading list, and surprisingly I haven’t read many of them!!! Going over to check them out now! You are such a blessing. Praying your faith is growing ever stronger through the tests and trials of life!
    BIG HUGS!
    Cherie

    • Kim B. says:

      Thanks Cherie! I pray that each book will encourage & inspire you as well 🙂 Thank you for your continued prayers, you have been a true blessing to me & have helped me SO MUCH on this journey. Blessings dear sister!!

  4. cherieinhim says:

    Hilarious . . . I was printing off the list and saw my name at the bottom of it! YOU ARE AMAZING! sister, you have blessed me beyond words! So glad I’ll be spending eternity with you!!!!! XOXO

  5. Kristin P says:

    HI. I just started the ‘Living the Surrendered Life’ series from She Reads Truth and I was catching up reading Day 1(on worry) & Day 2(on disappointment). I saw your comment on Day 2, you wrote …..God is reminding me not to rely on what I see, but to TRUST Him for what I don’t see. Trust, Be in Him, & Follow!
    That really stuck with me and I decided to include it on my blog post that will go live tomorrow morning. I have linked it back to you and given credit as to that you wrote it. It just really struck a cord with me and thought it may touch others as well. Thank you. God Bless.

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Kristin! I am so glad that you too were touched by God’sreminder tome.I don’t think it’s a coincidence that we both posted on worry, we both struggle with it &now we’re both encouraging one another. God knew we needed more reinforcements of His promises!I just popped over to your blog & I LOVED your post on worry as well as your blog’s verse.It IS hard to live by faith & not by sight!Blessings!

  6. Rita Galloway says:

    What a refreshing, wonderful pin to discover. A true blessing to find. Thank you for sharing this with the pin community that loves the Lord and tries to follow Him to the best of their human ability.

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Rita! Thank you for such encouraging words! My sister in law pinned it & I had no idea how many people would pop over to read it 🙂 God knows we ALL struggle with worrying so I’m glad a lot of people were able to be blessed by His Words. Blessings!

      ________________________________

Comments are welcome!

