Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Clean Up On Aisle 7

on August 15, 2012

     Jeff & I are slowly coming out of our 18 month trial.  Once Jeff started his new job some people thought we were immediately back to “normal”.  That’s not the case.  We are now finding ourselves in the clean up stage.   A stage I like to compare to grocery shopping with a child.  I’m sure most of you have either been there or witnessed this happening to some poor mother.  You pull into the grocery store & life is great.  You’re singing along with your favorite music while promising your child you’ll buy them their favorite ice cream if they behave.  That in turn makes them happy as they start thinking about what flavor they want.

     Then you enter the store & all that good stuff goes out the window.  Just like when you’re hit unexpectedly with a trial.  Good feeling…..gone!  You are no longer singing happily as your little one accidentally knocks something over & makes a BIG mess.  Yes, it’s NEVER a little mess, but a BIG one.  Seems to be the same with our trials.  When we “run away” from God & decide to do things our way vs His way we too create a BIG mess.  And that my friends makes A LOT of cleaning up to do!

     That’s where we are right now, cleaning up the big mess we made.  Oh, we’re grateful that we’re no longer making a mess, but cleaning it up is still hard.  When your child genuinely feels sorry they made the mess, do you just stand there & say, “You made the mess, you clean it up!”  No, you realize your child has learned their lesson & help them clean it up.  THAT my friend is what God does too.  He waits till we’ve learned our lesson & then not only does He deliver us from our trial, but He helps us clean it up.  We are NEVER left alone to clean up our mess, God’s hands are right there with us.  He insures that our mess is COMPLETELY cleaned with no traces remaining! Here’s some verses that remind us that God IS here to help us:

Psalm 46:1 God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble.

Psalm 54:4 Surely God is my help; the Lord is the one who sustains me.

Psalm 121:2 My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.

     So you see life can change in an instant.  Trials come & make a BIG mess of your life.  It’s important that once you find your trial ending, you allow yourself the time to completely clean up the mess.  Don’t be in such a hurry that you leave traces of your trial here & there.  You want ALL evidence of your messy trial gone!  I know it is sooo hard to wait for your trial to end!  But, the waiting is not over, God is still working.  Before you can walk out of that store, you must make sure you left it completely clean.  Same thing with your trial, you need to make sure the mess you’ve made has been completely cleaned with God’s helping hands. Next week I’ll talk about the importance of not forgetting what you’ve learned during your trial.  It amazes me how quick we forget things once life is “back to normal”.  Until then,  I’m thankful I’ve got God’s mighty hands helping me clean up my BIG mess as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

SheReadsTruth

9 responses to “Clean Up On Aisle 7

  1. Stefanie says:

    Kim,
    Normal? After going through something like we’ve both experienced, “new normal” is what awaits. What once was is no longer. Coming out on the other side is a new way of living, different that what we knew.
    Have you read “A New Kind of Normal” by Carol Kent? What she walked through is different than us, but the principles she shares work for any person(s) coming through a trial and dealing with the “after”. I have a copy I’d love to send you if you’d like. I keep copies to give away:)) Interested?
    Thank you, my friend! Always love your transparency and realness.
    Have a sweet day…

    • Kim B. says:

      Ohhh Stefanie, I LOVE the thought of a “new normal”! I honestly haven’t given much thought to what God has in store for me as I’ve been stuck in clean up mode. After reading your comment, I realized that I DO have a new& I’m sure better normal to look forward to! No, Ihaven’t read the book, and YES my dear friend I would LOVE a copy, how thoughtful are you?! Thank you for your encouraging words as always! You’re a blessing in my life!

      ________________________________

  2. Excellent reminder. Clean up is always harder than making the mess, isn’t it? So glad we’re not doing it alone!

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Sandy! Thank you for checking out my blog!I too am SO glad that we’re never alone 🙂 Have a blessed weekend!

      ________________________________

  3. Jacqui says:

    Kim, hop over to my blog and read my latest post! I tagged you:)

  4. cherieinhim says:

    Oh boy, I’ve been there sister!! God is with you . . . He’ll never leave you nor forsake you!
    Did you see my post today on UNGLUED?? There’s a webcast tonight online at 7pm CST . . . it should be AWESOME! I’m guessing like me, you come unglued from time to time, anyway, check it out if you get a chance!
    Sending LOTS of love and prayers!!!!
    Cherie

    • Kim B. says:

      Thanks for that GREAT reminder dear sister!! For whatever reason, your post is emailed to me the day after so I normally wouldn’t get it till tomorrow. I’ll be sure to check it out today! Will be gone tonight for football practices, but am still going to be checking out that book! I’m also following Lysa’s blog 🙂 God definitely knows where I need to be..HA!

      Hugs & Prayers!! Kim

      ________________________________

  5. Dawn says:

    Hi Kim, this is such a wonderful post! I like what Stefanie said, ” new normal”, which makes so much sense. Our trials are to make us grow and refine and shape us to be more like Christ. We can never be or should be since we should always be growing in Him. Thanks for this, it really blessed me today!

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Dawn! I too really loved what Stefanie said as I truly believed my life would return to “normal” once Jeff got a job. I never stopped to realize that it won’t go back to normal, but rather move forward as a new normal. You are sooo right, our trials do have a purpose!Rather then being continually discouraged post-trial, I need to be encouraged that I’m still being refined & shaped to be more like Christ, GREAT reminder! I LOVE your blog page by the way, sooo beautifully designed 🙂

      ________________________________

Comments are welcome!

