Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Are You Ready?

on August 24, 2012

     While I was looking for a picture to sum up my week, I had to laugh when I came across this one.  Why? Because see how that football is dominating the screen & edging out that book?  That book is my Women of the Bible book & it is being upstaged by a football.  This week my whole Biblical routine has been upstaged by football & I am NOT happy about that!  (I’m sure God isn’t too pleased either).  Not only am I writing my blog a day late, I have failed to do my daily Bible devotions & my prayer time has been rushed to say the least. 

     Yes, football season is a double-edged sword.  We say we are happily crazy busy as we do truly LOVE football! This year is especially crazy as I have a son in college, a son in high school, a son in middle school AND a son in elementary school.  And yes, they ALL play football!!  I have 4 sons playing football in 3 different cities.  (We ARE blessed that our college son plays within an hour of us so we are able to go to his home games.)  

     Thankfully, it is only crazy for 4 months.  I purposely do not have my younger boys playing ANY sports during the Summer.  Their Summer is their time of rest & our days are filled with beach trips, family trips, playdates & whatever they so choose.  That way when August rolls around, they are READY to go!

     I on the other hand, was not ready!  I should’ve been ready as I’ve been doing this football routine for over 15 years.  This year just snuck up on me & guess who took a backseat to football?  God!  Ugh, the conviction!  My heart was in the right place, but unfortunately my timing was not.  I had my days “planned” out & then the days came & nothing went as planned.   So, what to do when life happens? Be aware & make a plan on how to adapt. Here’s what the Bible says about this very thing:

Matthew 26:41 “Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation.   The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak.”

     Temptation.  What tempts you from keeping your time in the Word, in prayer & most importantly in God?  We are all pulled by something, whether it be sports, homeschooling, working, going to the gym, blogs, etc.  What is most important is recognizing when that pull starts to succeed & we are no longer pulling back.  Satan will use whatever he can to try & get us a part from God.  It is so IMPORTANT that we keep our time with God a priority & not an “if I have time” part of our day.  Here’s what the Bible says about remaining in Him:

Colossians 2:6-7  So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in Him,  rooted and built up in Him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.

John 15:5-6 I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.If you do not remain in me, you are like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned.

Romans 8:5 Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires;   but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.

Proverbs 3:1 My son, do not forget my teaching, but keep my commands in your heart.

Matthew 6:21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.

     I knew I needed to ask God’s forgiveness for dropping the ball (couldn’t resist).  I had allowed my boy’s football schedules to knock God from being my #1 priority of the day.  How about you?  Are you keeping God as your #1 priority?  What changes have you made to help you do that?  I am READY for some football, but most importantly, I am READY to keep God as my #1 priority as I am continuing on to Canaan.

SheReadsTruth

10 responses to “Are You Ready?

  1. Ruthie says:

    Love it!! I’m bummed when I don’t grab my bible, prayer journal and Jesus Calling book first thing in am. It feels so good to start and end with Him. And keeping him priority is key. Thanks for ur scripture! Xox Ruthie

    Sent from my iPhone My fingers are too big for this thing! Sorry for the many misspellings!

  2. Jacqui says:

    I love this Kim! You had me laughing 🙂 And then I felt the sting of conviction. I still haven’t done my devotions today. My kids are napping, so right after this, I’m diving into the Word! Oh, thank you for stirring my hunger for Him! As much as I love the blogging world, I do find myself distracted at times. Even good things can be distractions, huh!

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Jacqui! I too find it hard balancing blogging & life. Blogging IS such a great thing until it gets in the way of running my household! That’s why I HAVE to make God my #1 priority, otherwise He gets lost in the daily shuffle & what I meant to get to, never did! There’s never enough time in a day huh?!

      ________________________________

  3. Oh, my friend!! I’m a sports freak! Basketball, mostly, but since moving to Texas, we’ve had “grow” a love for football. My husband will watch with me, but he’s not nearly as “into it” as I am. My son, Alex, lovest he Boston Celtics but that’s about it. He swims so he really enjoyed the olympics.

    As I read your post, I really began to think what jumps ahead of Him. The one thing I personally struggle with. Ironically, I think it’s the very thing I’m using now ~ my MacBook. I could spend hours on end perusing sites, blogs, Pinterest, answering email and responding to FB messages. It consumes me if I let it. Balancing it all is a great struggle for me.

    Great post, Kim!!

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Stefanie! Oh I bet you’d beA LOT of fun to watch March Madness with! That’s great that Alex swims, I honestly think people don’t realize how HARD it is! How blessed that the US has such GREAT swimmers for him watch too 🙂 I know blogging is a double edged sword. I LOVE all the inspiration & encouragement I get from it, but HATE that time just seems to get away from me when on my computer. I read on your blog how you get up at 5:30, I too started getting up an hour earlier in order to get as much of it done before my boys wake up & my day truly begins. It does help!

      ________________________________

      • Stefanie says:

        You are such an encourager, Kim!! Thank you:))
        Yes, getting up a little bit earlier does help. I may not actually get dressed until after he goes to work and Alex goes to school, but I’m up:))

  4. Laura says:

    Nope. I’ve completely fallen out of routine these past few weeks. I’ve been going on trips and entertaining visiting inlaws and we bought a new vehicle and I took care of my mother post-surgery. I know kids need routine, but holy moly, do I ever need it too! Things are starting to settle down a bit here, and I need to make time with God a priority again. No more excuses.

    • Kim B. says:

      Wow Laura!!! See, we ALL have life moments that can rob us of our time & priorities! Just reading your comment made me tired! I’m praying that things will continue to settle down for you & that God would fill you with His peace as you adjust your time to better meet your needs. It IS hard!

      ________________________________

  5. I love this Kim! I have been doing the shreadstruth study and was sooo excited we were going through the book of proverbs ..now there aren’t enough Grace days in the world to help me catch up! Why is it so easy to fall out of good habits but so hard to break bad ones?! Thanks for your encouragement!

    Jenny

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Jenny! Oh my goodness, can I relate to keeping up with She Reads Truth! It’s the same thing with all my other blogs I belong to. I try sooo hard to read them each day, but somedays I hardly even get to my email, let alone read it! LOVED your comment on how easy it is to fall out of good habits, but so hard to break bad ones! GREAT point!

      ________________________________

Comments are welcome!

