Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Judge Not…

on August 29, 2012

Matthew 7:1 (60 kb)

     Judging….such a strong convicting word that I’m sure we’re ALL guilty of doing.  We judge others by how they dress, where they live, what their kids after school activities are, how they discipline their kids, homeschooled, private school or public, fulltime, part-time or stay at home mom, etc etc  Why?  Because for some reason we think we have the right to! 

     I have been judged for numerous things, but mostly my boys’ sports schedule.  The funny thing is that I tend to be judged by people whose kids don’t play sports or only play one.   Thankfully, I am not easily offended & have been blessed/cursed with the gift of sarcasm.  When someone tells me they’d NEVER let their child play more than one sport, I in my sweetest tone possible point out that, that’s most likely why God didn’t give them kids who want to play more than one sport.  Now hear me out, I mean that in the NICEST way!!  Jeff & I both played multiple sports & I was on various travel/club teams growing up.  Jeff also went on to play college football.  We make a GREAT team & totally see things eye to eye.  Our crazy schedule is no different then what he & I had growing up.  Our boys LOVE to play football, basketball & lacrosse.  We LOVE to encourage that & willingly make many sacrifices for them to do so.

     We must realize that God has a different plan for each one of us & our families.   That’s why it is important to seek God’s will & wisdom through prayer & His word. We may start off planning what we think is best for our life, but in the end God is the one whose plan we end up following.   Just like it says here:

Proverbs 16:9 In your heart you plan your life. But the Lord decides where your steps will take you.

      For someone to then judge the steps that God led me to take means that they’re basically judging God since God is the one who led me to make that decision.  

     This way of thinking has also help convict me of my most guilty judgement…..at what age to send boys to kindergarten.  I used get up on my holy high horse when I found out someone was sending their son to kindergarten early making him the youngest vs the oldest.  I judged their decision based on what I thought was best.  All four of my boys have August/September birthdays & all four of my boys started school at age 6.  I have helped some people with their decision, but unfortunately, I have offended some people too.  God REALLY convicted me this year when one of my friends decided to send her barely 5-year-old son to school.  Before I could even open my mouth to object, He shut it.  He reminded me that their decision was between Him & them, not me.  He also reminded me of a Scripture where Peter questioned God about John as if it were his business:

John 21:21-22 When Peter saw that disciple, he asked, “Lord, what will happen to him?”Jesus answered, “Suppose I want him to remain alive until I return. What does that matter to you? You must follow me.”    

     What does it matter to me?  I mean honestly, what concern is it of mine when they send THEIR son to school? Rather then spending my time judging people, God wants me to spend my time following Him.  Here are some other verses on judging:

Romans 2:1 If you judge someone else, you have no excuse for it. When you judge another person, you are judging yourself. You do the same things you blame others for doing.

Romans 14:13 Let us stop judging one another. Instead, make up your mind not to put anything in your brother’s way that would make him trip and fall.

James 4:12 There is only one Lawgiver and Judge. He is the One who is able to save life or destroy it. But who are you to judge your neighbor?

     Who am I to judge my neighbor? My heart is convicted! How about you?  Are you having a hard time with people judging a decision that you’ve made according to God’s plans for you?  Are you struggling with judging others on something you may feel that you know what’s best?  I still struggle with both, but I am working on being a lot less judgemental & a lot more supportive as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

      

2 responses to “Judge Not…

  1. Jacqui says:

    It’s funny how easy it is to fall into this trap…without even realizing it! I love how you pointed out that “their decision was between Him and them.” I know I’ve learned that God works so differently in each of our lives and we need to be careful not to limit Him. Just because He leads me one direction doesn’t mean He’s leading someone else in the same way. I have definitely been guilty of this same judgment! Anyway, I love this Kim! Thanks for your honesty and a heart yielded to Him!

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Jacqui! Ya, this was a hard post to write as it’s easy to point out those judging me, yet not so easy pointing out how I judge others! Once I brought God into the equation it was very convicting! Thanks for your support & words of encouragement! It’s always a blessing reading your comments 🙂

      ________________________________

Comments are welcome!

