Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Accident?!

on October 4, 2012

 Last Friday afternoon my younger boys & I were involved in a car accident.  I had stopped at a 4 way stop & was 3/4 of the way through the intersection when BAM someone rammed into the passenger side of my car.   The other driver told me she was visiting from up North & was lost.  As a result, she was looking down at her phone trying to understand the directions it was giving her.  Once she saw the damage to my car & that I had my boys in the car with me she started hysterically crying.  The front end of her car was completely smashed too.

      Thankfully, I was 2 blocks away from my friend’s house.  She immediately came & got the boys & took them back to her home while I stayed with the lady & waited for AAA.  I felt really bad for her as not only was she just visiting, but she was young too, in her early 30’s.  I told her I was a Christian & asked her if she believed in God.  She shook her head yes.  I then told her that rather than focusing on all the terrible things that just happened, why don’t we focus on the grace that God had shown us instead.  So looked at me like I was crazy, but I didn’t care & started naming them:

     1) Both of my boys were asleep when she hit me.  By the time they woke up, the accident was over so they have no recollection of what happened.

     2) Even though she hit me going full speed, the passenger door took all the force & as a result I was able to drive my car to the side of the street as well as drive it home & then to the repair shop.  Another blessing was that the passenger window WAS rolled up, but by God’s grace it didn’t shatter, nor did any of the  damaged door push itself into the car.  The inside of my car shows ZERO damage!

     3) My boys were able to go home with my friend vs sitting on the sidewalk with us for 2 hours…that was HUGE!!

     4) I told the lady she was VERY blessed that she hit me & not a pedestrian crossing the street, as she would’ve either killed them or  seriously injured them.

     5) The lady has 2 small children who by the grace of God weren’t in the car with her at the time.

     6) No one was hurt.  As upset as she was about her car & mine, I proceeded to tell her that our cars were materialistic things with no Heavenly value.  They are cars & can be replaced!

     7) There was a witness who pulled over & saw the whole thing & verified she had run the stop sign in case she later changed her story.

     I ended up sitting on the sidewalk with her for about 2 hours while we waited for her car to be towed.  She knew I didn’t have to stay with her & was very grateful I did.  I knew God was providing me with a GREAT opportunity to share His love with her & I did 🙂  When the tow truck finally arrived I asked her if I could pray with her.  She said sure & I did with my arm around her.  I’m praying that God will grow that seed I planted in her & change her life as a result.  Wouldn’t that be the BEST blessing?!    

     The next day we were at the football field.  I was sharing with my friend about the accident & she just couldn’t believe God was giving us one more thing to deal with.  At that EXACT moment, my 8-year-old ran up all excited about something he found in the trash while throwing something away.  He found a brand new Bible cover with this on the front:

     I laughed & told my friend that I think God just answered how to handle what He gives us 🙂  I’m thankful for those words that my boy found & I’m cherishing them as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

7 responses to “Accident?!

  1. beckybarnfather says:

    Kim–I am so thankful for the grace that God continues to give you through each situation. What a blessing you are to your boys and the many others around you. Praise God you are okay. God is good all the time!!

    Happy Organizing,

    Becky B. Organizing Made Fun http://www.organizingmadefun.com

  2. I can TOTALLY vouch for the fact that in the north we do not have 4 way stops! They make me nervous to drive through down here in Tennessee. I’m feeling the grace that I haven’t been the girl to run one, though. Way to do the Jesus thing with the situation! Grateful for you – Mary 🙂

    • Kim B. says:

      Hi Mary!! Thanks for such kind words! I truly felt bad for her as I know I too would’ve been HYSTERICAL if it were my fault. As a missionary, I’m sure you can relate to the feeling of having such a GREAT peace in our God, that you want that other person to have it too. I knew I wasn’t enough to comfort her, she truly needed God’s peace 🙂 May God’s grace continue to protect you!! Praying for you Mary 🙂 XOXO

      ________________________________

  3. What an encouraging post! It is a matter of perspective on how we choose to view and deal with tribulations that come our way. You handled the accident with such grace Kim. I’m thankful no one was hurt.

    • Kim B. says:

      Thanks Kim!! I’m glad I’m at a point where I want to look for God’s grace amidst the tribulations :) I’m glad too that my blog can encourage you, as your blog TRULY inspires me! XOXO

      ________________________________

  4. cherieinhim says:

    Sister, can I just say you are AMAZING! What an incredible story of your faith in action! You are always in my thoughts and prayers . . . so glad that God protected you and your boys in this accident . . . just another opportunity for God to show you He’s got you in the palms of His hands! Love and BIG hugs!
    Cherie

  5. Jacqui says:

    Oh Kim, your posts always cheer me up! I love your obedience and faith! I’m so thankful you’re well and everyone involved in the accident is well! Blessings, friend!

Comments are welcome!

