Canaan Bound Brigade

My Journey to the Promised Land….

Public Prayer

on October 12, 2012

Luke 12:8 (42 kb)

     My last post talked about how I witnessed to the driver of the vehicle that crashed into mine.  The comments I received from that post were very encouraging, but honestly the lady was very easy to witness to.  I know that is not always the case!  Sometimes you find yourself being convicted to witness to someone whom you don’t even want to talk to, let alone share the good news with.  THOSE are the people who deserve the accolades, the ones who reach out to the unreachable! 

     After thinking more about that post, I was reminded of a situation I was in last month.   My older son’s girlfriend was kind enough to invite me to spend the day with her at their college.  She knew I hadn’t had the time to tour their school so she thought it would be fun to show me around.  We had a GREAT time & ended the day by having lunch at a nearby restaurant.  When our food came, I was immediately convicted to pray.  I would love to tell you I asked her if she would mind if I prayed, but I didn’t.  I took the easy way out & privately thanked God for my food, not wanting to possibly embarrass her amongst all the other college students there eating.  Boy…was I convicted ALL day long!!! 

      So why didn’t I pray??!!  The peer pressure of not wanting to possibly embarrass her in front of all the other students.  I stupidly justified my decision thinking, “God will understand”.  Maybe He did, maybe He didn’t.  Personally, I think it was a little bit of both.  Here our some verses on God truly knowing us on the inside:

1 John 3:20 Our hearts may judge us. But God is greater than our hearts. He knows everything.

Acts 15:8a God knows the human heart.

     My heart was indeed judging me.  God knew I was torn, He knew in my heart I DID want to pray.  But He also knew I didn’t choose Him, I played it safe.  Rather then acknowledging God & praying out loud, I denied God & didn’t.  I was instantly reminded of this verse:

Matthew 10:33 But whoever disowns me before others, I will disown before my Father in heaven.

     I knew I had disowned God by not openly praying & I knew I couldn’t do that again.  I wanted this to be my verse:

Luke 12:8 What about someone who says in front of others that he knows me? I tell you, the Son of Man will say that He knows that person in front of God’s angels.

     Yesterday, I once again found myself at a restaurant having lunch with a friend.  When our food came, I did shamelessly start playing that, “To pray or not to pray?” game in my head.  But guess what…  this time I chose Him!  I grabbed my friend’s hand & told I her I wanted to pray before we ate & I did.  I didn’t look around to see if anyone was watching me,  I just prayed.  You know what? It felt GREAT choosing God!  I’m praying that you too will choose God the next time you’re in a similar situation.  I know I feel much better that I did as I’m continuing on to Canaan.

2 responses to “Public Prayer

  1. I know what you mean. It seems awkward to pray in a restaurant, but God is there and should be thanked always. Thanks for sharing your story and the encouragement!

  2. Jacqui says:

    I love that you took that step of faith and prayed with your friend in the restaurant! I understand that inward conflict! When I feel like I’m withholding my faith because I’m afraid of what others think, I know it’s something the Lord is probably asking me to do. But it can be so hard to discern sometimes. I’ve been thinking of you today, friend! ❤

Comments are welcome!

